Thursday, February 18, 2016


The Ruby Files' Bobby Nash and Sean Taylor will be guests at Con Nooga this weekend

Bobby's CON NOOGA 2016 Panel Schedule:
3:00 PM Plotting vs. Pantsing
4:00 PM Writing Believable Dialogue
1:00 PM Writing for Graphic Novels
4:00 PM Wrting for Anthologies, Series, or Shared Universe
9:00 PM Short Stories vs. Novels - What's the Difference?

Sean's CON NOOGA 2016 Panel Schedule:
4:00 PM Writing Believable Dialogue
5:00 PM Creating Three Dimensional Characters
10:00 PM Zombie Fiction
1:00 PM Writing for Graphic Novels
8:00 PM Writing the Five Senses
9:00 PM Wrting Short Stories vs. Novels
1:00 PM Terrible Writing Advice

When not at panels, Bobby and Sean will both have tables with their books set up somewhere in the convention hall. We're not sure of the exact spot at this time, but he should be easy to find so please stop in and say hello.

Connooga is held from February 19 - 21, 2016 in Chattanooga, TN in both the Historical Chattanooga Choo Choo Hotel and The Chattanooga Convention Center.

Learn more about Connooga at

Monday, February 1, 2016


The Ghastly Awards Nominees were announced today and a story written by Jason Crawley and drawn by Ruby Files artist, Rob Moran for Bloke's Terrible Tomb of Terror #12 'THE JOKE'S ON YOU' has been nominated in the BEST SHORT STORY IN AN ANTHOLOGY category. Jason and Rob won this award last year it would be nice if they could do it again.

Congratulations to all the 2015 Ghastly Award Nominees.

The 2015
Ghastly Award Nominees
The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the 2015 Ghastly Award Nominees. The Nominees, chosen by the Ghastly Award Judges, reflect the wide range of Horror material being published in Horror Comics today. All Nominees were selected from work that was submitted by Publishers and Creators throughout the calendar year for Ghastly Award consideration.

Named after acclaimed comic creator “Ghastly” Graham Ingels, the awards are now in their 5th year.

Fan and Creator Voting will be open from February 8, 2016 until February 21, 2016 at You may only vote once for the 2015 Nominees and Fans will decide the winner of the Best Horror Comic Cover Award. Winners will be announced on March 1, 2016.

We thank everyone who took the time to submit their work for this year's awards.

The 2015 Nominees are:

Best Ongoing Title:
Crossed: Badlands (Avatar Press)
Harrow County (Dark Horse Comics)
Nailbiter (Image Comics)
Rachel Rising (Abstract Studios)
Wytches (Image Comics)

Best Limited Series:
Archie vs. Predator (Dark Horse Comics)
Colder: The Bad Seed (Dark Horse Comics)
Dark Gods (Avatar Press)
Lady Demon (Dynamite Entertainment)
Strain: The Night Eternal (Dark Horse Comics)

Best One-Shot:
‘68: Bad Sign (Image Comics)
The Goon: Theatre Bizarre (Dark Horse Comics)
Nailbiter / Hack/Slash (Image Comics)
Prolife (Duskbunnies Comics)
Puppet Master Annual #1: Halloween 1988 (Action Lab/Danger Zone)

Best Anthology:
Bloke’s Terrible Tomb Of Terror (Indy)
The Creeps (Warrant Publishing)
Horrere (Little O/Madius Comics)
John Carpenter’s Tales for a Halloween Night (Storm King Productions)
Then it was Dark (Peppermint Monster Press)

Best Short Story in an Anthology:
“Bunny Didn’t Tell Us” - John Carpenter’s Tales for a Halloween Night
“The Dance” - Creepy #21
“If You Go Down to the Woods Today” - Horrere Book 1
“The Jokes on You” - Bloke’s Terrible Tomb of Terror #12
“Monster” - The Creeps #3

Best OGN:
Daomu (Magnetic Press)
Hellbound (Dark Horse Comics)
Junior Braves of the Apocalypse Book 1: A Brave is Brave (Oni Press)
Olympus (Humanoids)
Red Angel Dragnet (Eric Palicki)

Best Archival Collection:
Collection of previously released material / historical book on Horror Comics
The Chilling Archives of Horror Comics: Ghosts and Girls of Fiction House
(IDW Publishing/Yoe Books)
Creepy Presents: Alex Toth (Dark Horse Comics)
Grave Business and Other Stories (Fantagraphics Books)
The Kurosagi Corpse Delivery Service Omnibus Edition (Dark Horse Comics)
Vampirella Archives Volume 11 (Dynamite Entertainment)

Best Writer:
Cullen Bunn (Army of Darkness, Harrow County, Hellbreak, The Sixth Gun)
Mike Eshelman (Prolife)
Terry Moore (Rachel Rising)
Scott Snyder (Wytches)
Joshua Williamson (Ghosted, Nailbiter)

Best Artist:
Mirka Andolfo (Lady Demon)
Raymund Bermudez (ExMortis)
Jorge Corona (Goners)
Tyler Crook (Harrow County)
Juan Ferreyra (Colder: The Bad Seed)

Best Colorist:
Gabriele Bagnoli (Lady Demon)
Gabriel Cassata (Goners)
Digikore Studios (Crossed: Badlands, Dark Gods)
Dan Jackson (Strain: The Night Eternal)
Luca Saponti (Hellbound)

Best Horror Comic Cover:
Fan voting will determine the Winner
Colder: Toss the Bones #1 by Juan Ferreyra
Dark Gods #5 by German Erramouspe
Godzilla in Hell #1 - Subscription by Jeff Zornow
Harrow County #1 by Tyler Crook
The School of the Damned #5 by Alex Ronald

Hall of Fame Inductees:
Stephen R. Bissette
Richard Corben

Normanton Award Honoree:
Presented for a commitment to carrying on the
legacy of Horror Comics for generations to come.
Dan Braun

The Ghastly Awards congratulate all of the Nominees for what they bring to the comic reading community and are here to celebrate these achievements.


Judges: Decapitated Dan, Mike Howlett, Denise Dutton, Daniel Viney and James Ferguson.